DIGITAL
TRANSFORMATION OF THE AUTOMOTIVE WORLD

Digital transformation is everywhere and brings unprecedented changes to the automotive industry. The automobile as its core product is being revolutionized, numerous tech players are pushing into the market and access to customers is being redefined.
The digital world presents a major challenge to the automotive industry. Berylls Digital Ventures as a unit of Berylls Strategy Advisors is taking on this challenge with the aim of transforming and rethinking current business models of OEMs, suppliers and engineering services providers, because all Berylls units are clearly focused on the automotive industry.

“Big Data takes place on the street.”

Hendrik Stange, Fraunhofer IAIS

“We need to be leading within many aspects. But I can not say how the new services will look by now.”

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Daimler AG

“To succeed you must study the endgame before everything else.”

José Raúl Capablanca, World Chess Champion

“Big data is not about the data.”

Gary King, Harvard University

“Over the next decade, the car will change more than in the last five decades.”

Mary Barra, General Motors

“Over time I think we will propably see a closer merger of biological intelligence and digital intelligence.”

Elon Musk, Tesla

“It is this vertical-integrative function and holistic view that the value of Big Data for businesses, consumers and organizations.”

Hendrik Stange, Fraunhofer IAIS

“Brands who fail to improve their experience at every touch point run the risk of losing the loyalty of customers.”

Dr. Ian Robertson, (ex) BMW

“If you digitize a shitty process, then you will have a shitty digital process.”

Thorsten Dirks, Eurowings

WE DEVELOP AND IMPLEMENT NEW BUSINESS MODELS

New points of customer interaction are being created and must be utilized, processes must be redesigned, new business models and value chains must be developed and implemented. We want to help our clients take advantage of the opportunities arising from digital transformation. Besides traditional strategy consulting, Berylls therefore continues to expand its offering in the direction of conception and implementation of digital solutions.
Our claim: Berylls Digital Ventures considers itself to be an implementation-oriented unit aimed at meeting the market’s demands (in the areas of B2C and B2B) and clients’ needs for end-to-end responsibility.

SPECIALISTS
IN DIGITAL EXPERTS

Berylls Digital Ventures consists of automotive experts in digital transformation and artificial intelligence. When necessary, they can draw from a large network of internal and external specialists.
Part of this network are universities and research institutions, as well as employees and cooperation partners of the Berylls Offices in Munich, Zurich, Shanghai, and Detroit. The location of Berylls Digital Ventures in the Mindspace building on Friedrichstraße was chosen for a good reason: Berlin, as digital metropolis of Europe, offers a large pool of creative minds from which Berylls can staff its new unit with the right employees.

MINDSET

Our mindset

CLEAR MISSION

WE ENABLE OUR CLIENTS TO IMPROVE THEIR TRADITIONAL BUSINESS AND MASTER NEW CHALLENGES IN THE AUTOMOTIVE & MOBILITY INDUSTRY.

CUSTOM APPROACH

WE BUILD AND SCALE INNOVATIVE DIGITAL SOLUTIONS & BUSINESSES THAT PUT THE USER FIRST.

AUTOMOTIVE DNA

WE FOCUS ON WHAT WE KNOW BEST: AUTOMOTIVE & MOBILITY INDUSTRY.

COLLABORATION

WE BELIEVE IN A JOINT PROJECT SET-UP THAT FACILITATES THE CONTRIBUTION OF ALL RELEVANT STAKEHOLDERS.

HOLISTIC PERSPECTIVE

WE LOOK AT THE BIG PICTURE TO INTEGRATE ALL ASPECTS OF SUCCESSFUL PRODUCT IMPLEMENTATION.

RESULTS

WE PLACE OUTPUT AND DELIVERY AT THE CORE OF OUR DAILY WORK. WE ALWAYS PREFER RELEVANCE OVER HYPE.

FLEXIBILITY

WE UNITE THE BEST SKILLS : THROUGH INTEGRATION OF SPECIALIST PARTNERS.

FORESIGHT

WE ANTICIPATE CHALLENGES EARLY ON AND TACKLE THEM WITH OUR STRATEGIC EXPERTISE.

110%

WE DELIVER BEYOND EXPECTATIONS, ALWAYS

WE DEMYSTIFY ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE (AI)

Everyone talks about Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML) and Deep Learning (DL) these days. As a result, we often see unrealistic expectations regarding potential benefits, use cases and methodologies.
As we integrate AI-elements into our products on a daily basis, we felt it is time to separate the facts from the hype. In our “AI demystified” booklet, we place AI, ML & DL into a broader context and tackle a lot of myths around scoping, execution and operations of AI-based products.
And of course, we are excited to learn what you think. Explore our booklet, if you want to know what is true and what is not:

download_but_9_1download_but_9_2

FOCUSED ON
DATA-INTENSIVE
PRODUCTS

Berylls Digital Ventures is focused on innovative, complex and data-intensive digital products and can leverage machine learning solutions (artificial intelligence) that have already been successfully established in the market.
From data analysis to a finished digital product, the Berlin team has the right mindset and skills, the agility and entrepreneurship of a start-up, paired with the professionalism of a strategy consulting firm. In the digital context, Berylls Digital Ventures will continue the Berylls track record of and experience with many already successfully completed strategy and implementation projects.

CASE STUDY:
LIFESTYLE CONFIGURATOR

More than ever, consumers today factor their lifestyle and personality into their purchasing decisions. That also applies to buying a car: It becomes an ambassador for your personal style. It is therefore high time to model this paradigm shift online – with our revolutionary Lifestyle Configurator.
What if you didn’t configure your car from technical data, but based on your own needs and individual lifestyle? Based on this question, we, together with Nolte&Lauth, and the Fraunhofer Institute for Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems (IAIS), developed an innovative Lifestyle Configurator for, and in partnership with, Mercedes-Benz.
Such an innovative feat won us three Red Dot Awards in 2016, and the coveted “Best of the Best” Automotive Brand Contest distinction in the “Digital” category – formally presented at the “Mondial de l’Automobile” salon in Paris.
Read more on berylls.com

CASE STUDY:
JOYFUL ANTICIPATION.

Buying a new car at Mercedes has become an even greater pleasure since 2017: A personalized platform, the first of its kind in the industry, enables the purchaser to track the production of his car. And, instead of a passive waiting time, to experience genuine anticipatory joy.
With “digital anticipation”, customers can follow the development of their own vehicle in real time and immerse themselves deep into the brand world. Developed under the strategic direction of Berylls together with Cinteo, fischerAppelt and Goodmates, this new feature in the digital customer experience of Mercedes-Benz now received the Red Dot Award for Communication Design: Best of the Best in addition to the German Prize for Online Communication 2017.
Read more on berylls.com

MEMBER OF THE
AI Association Germany

Berylls is founding member of the Artificial Intelligence (AI) Association Germany, which bundles domestic AI expertise to strengthen Germany’s international competitiveness and create a nationwide AI ecosystem. The association also defines a holistic governance for AI applications across the automotive industry – such as vehicle networking, electromobility, new mobility services and autonomous driving.
“AI has been gaining a lot of momentum recently. We at Berylls have explored AI and successfully leveraged AI-based applications into many of our products. Our commitment to the AI Association Germany helps to share our viewpoint of the mobility industry while we continuously expand our AI-expertise.” Malte Broxtermann, Project Manager Berylls Digital Ventures.
Read more about the AI Association Germany at : https://ki-verband.de/

OUR LOCATIONS

Berlin

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
c/o mindspace
Friedrichstraße 68
10117 Berlin

München

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
Maximilianstrasse 34
80539 München

Shanghai

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
1019 Wuding Lu
Building 6, 3rd floor
Office 301
200041 Shanghai

HERITAGE

Berylls Digital Ventures is a subsidiary of top-management strategy consulting firm Berylls Strategy Advisors.
Since its launch in 2011 Berylls Strategy Advisors are focusing on challenges and projects within automotive and mobility industry. With approx. 50 consultants Berylls Strategy Advisors accompany OEMs, suppliers and investors through the biggest transformation of the industry. Berylls provides expertise in development of traditional automotive business to definition of new and innovative mobility and business solutions.
Explore Berylls Strategy Advisors Berylls Strategy Advisors

DIGITALE
TRANSFORMATION
DER AUTOWELT

Digital ist allgegenwärtig, die Automobilbranche erfährt durch die digitale Transformation eine beispiellose Veränderung. Das Kernprodukt Auto wird revolutioniert, zahlreiche Tech-Player drängen in den Markt und die Hoheit über die Kunden wird neu definiert.
Die digitale Welt, fordert die Autoindustrie heraus. Diese Herausforderung nimmt Berylls Digital Ventures als Unit von Berylls Strategy Advisors auf, um die Geschäftsmodelle von OEM, Zulieferer und Entwicklungsdienstleister zu transformieren und neu zu denken, denn alle Berylls Units haben einen klaren Fokus auf Automotive.

„Big Data findet auf der Straße statt.“

Hendrik Stange, Fraunhofer IAIS

„Wir müssen deshalb überall vorne dabei sein. Aber wie genau die neuen Dienste aussehen werden, kann ich heute noch nicht sagen.“

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Daimler AG

„Um erfolgreich zu sein, musst du das Endspiel verstanden haben.“

José Raúl Capablanca, Schachweltmeister

„Sei stark in der Vision, aber flexibel im Detail.“

Jeff Bezos, Amazon

„Bei Big Data geht es in erster Linie nicht um Daten.“

Gary King, Harvard University

„In den nächsten zehn Jahren wird sich das Auto stärker verändern als in den letzten fünf Jahrzehnten.“

Mary Barra, General Motors

„Mit der Zeit werden wir wahrscheinlich eine engere Verschmelzung von biologischer und digitaler Intelligenz erleben.“

Elon Musk, Tesla

„Es ist diese vertikal-integrative Funktion und ganzheitliche Sicht, die den Wert von Big Data für Unternehmen, Konsumenten und Organisationen ausmacht.“

Hendrik Stange, Fraunhofer IAIS

„Marken, die ihre Experience an jedem Interaktionspunkt nicht verbessern, laufen Gefahr, die Treue der Kunden zu verlieren.“

Dr. Ian Robertson, BMW

„Wenn sie einen Scheißprozess digitalisieren, dann haben sie einen scheiß digitalen Prozess.“

Thorsten Dirks, Eurowings

WIR DENKEN GESCHÄFTSMODELLE NEU UND SETZEN SIE UM

Neue Interaktionspunkte entstehen und müssen nutzbar gemacht, Prozesse neu gestaltet, Geschäftsmodelle und Wertschöpfungsketten neu gedacht und umgesetzt werden. Wir wollen unsere Kunden unterstützen, Chancen im Rahmen digitaler Transformation wahrzunehmen. Das Angebot von Berylls wird neben der klassischen Strategieberatung, weiter in Richtung Konzeptionierung und Implementierung ausgebaut.
Unser Anspruch: Der Nucleus Berylls Digital Ventures versteht sich ausdrücklich als umsetzungsorientierte Unit, um den Marktanforderungen (im Bereich B2C & B2B) und Kundenwünschen nach End-to-End Verantwortung gerecht zu werden.

SPEZIALISTEN
FÜR DIGITALES

Bei Berylls Digital Ventures arbeiten die Experten für digitale Transformation und künstliche Intelligenz. Bei Bedarf können sie auf ein großes Netzwerk aus internen wie externen Fachleuten zugreifen.
Hochschulen und Forschungs-Institute sowie Mitarbeiter und Kooperationspartner der Berylls-Offices in München, Zürich, Shanghai und Detroit stehen zur Verfügung, wenn es darauf ankommt. Der Standort von Berylls Digital Ventures im Mindspace in der Friedrichstraße ist bewusst gewählt: Berlin – als die Digitale-Metropole Europas – bietet einen großen Pool von kreativen Köpfen, aus dem sich Berylls neue Unit mit den richtigen Mitarbeitern versorgen kann.

MINDSET

Unsere Einstellung

KLARE MISSION

Wir ermöglichen unseren Kunden, ihr traditionelles Geschäft zu steigern und neue Herausforderungen in der Automobil- und Mobilitätsindustrie zu meistern.

INDIVIDUELLER ANSATZ

Wir entwickeln und skalieren innovative digitale Lösungen und Geschäftsmodelle, stets aus Anwender-Perspektive

AUTOMOBILE DNA

Wir fokussieren uns auf das was wir am besten kennen: die Automobil- & Mobilitätsbranche.

ZUSAMMENARBEIT

Wir sind überzeugt, dass ein Projekterfolg nur unter Beteiligung aller relevanten Stakeholder möglich ist.

GANZHEITLICHE PERSPEKTIVE

Wir blicken stets auf das große Ganze, um alle Aspekte einer erfolgreichen Produktimplementierung zu berücksichtigen.

ERGEBNISORIENTIERUNG

Für uns stehen Leistung und Ergebnis im Zentrum unseres täglichen Handelns – dabei sticht Relevanz immer Hype.

FLEXIBILITÄT

Wir vereinen unterschiedliche Expertisen für das beste Ergebnis: z.B. Durch die Integration unserer Kooperationspartner.

VORRAUSSICHT

Wir antizipieren Herausforderungen frühzeitig und meistern sie mit strategischer Expertise.

110%

Wir liefern über den an uns gestellten Erwartungen, immer.

WIR ENTMYSTIFIZIEREN KÜNSTLICHE INTELLIGENZ (KI)

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI), Machine Learning (ML) und Deep Learning (DL) ist aktuell in (fast) aller Munde. Warum? Die Technologie wird als „Gamechanger“ vieler Industrien betrachtet.
Wir beobachten, wie KI oft mit sehr hohen und unterschiedlichen Erwartungen an Vorteile und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten diskutiert wird. Da KI-Komponenten in unserer täglichen Produktentwicklung eine zentrale Rolle spielen, möchten wir Fakten & Hype voneinander trennen und mit den größten Mythen rund um KI aufräumen.
Unsere Serie “AI demystified” beantwortet dabei die zentralen Fragen zu Scoping, Exekution & Betrieb von KI-Applikationen.
Laden Sie sich hier das Booklet herunter und erfahren Sie, welche Mythen wahr sind und welche nicht:
download_but_6_1download_but_6_2

FOKUSSIERT AUF
DATENINTENSIVE
PRODUKTE

Berylls Digital Ventures ist auf innovative, komplexe und datenintensive digitale Produkte fokussiert und kann an bereits im Markt erfolgreiche Machine Learning Lösungen (Künstliche Intelligenz) anknüpfen.
Von der Datenanalyse bis zum fertigen digitalen Produkt verfügt das Berliner Team über das entsprechende Mind- und Skillset, über die Agilität und das Unternehmertum eines Startups, gepaart mit der Professionalität einer Strategieberatung. Berylls Digital Ventures wird die Erfolgs- und Erfahrungsgeschichte vieler bereits erfolgreicher Strategie- und Umsetzungs-Projekte im digitalen Kontext ganzheitlich weiterführen.

CASE STUDY:
LIFESTYLE KONFIGURATOR

Lebensstil und Persönlichkeit prägen Kaufentscheidungen heutiger Konsumenten mehr denn je. Das gilt auch beim Kauf eines Autos: Es wird zum Botschafter persönlichen Stils. Höchste Zeit, diesen Paradigmenwechsel auch online abzubilden – mit unserem revolutionären Lifestyle Konfigurator.
Wie wäre es, wenn man sein Auto nicht von technischen Daten her konfigurieren würde, sondern auf Grundlage der eigenen Bedürfnisse und des individuellen Lebensstils? Aus dieser Fragestellung heraus entwickelten wir gemeinsam mit Nolte&Lauth sowie dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Intelligente Analyse- und Informationssysteme (IAIS) einen neuartigen Lifestyle Konfigurator für und mit Mercedes-Benz.
Für so viel Innovation gab es 2016 gleich drei Red Dot Awards und die begehrte Auszeichnung des Automotive Brand Contest „Best of the Best” im Bereich Digital – feierlich überreicht im Rahmen des Salons „Mondial de l’Automobile“ in Paris.
Mehr erfahren sie unter berylls.com

CASE STUDY:
DIGITALE VORFREUDE

Der Neuwagenkauf bei Mercedes-Benz ist seit 2017 noch schöner geworden: Mit einer branchenweit erstmalig entwickelten personalisierten Plattform kann der Käufer die Produktion seines Fahrzeugs verfolgen. Und statt passiver Wartezeit echte Vorfreude erleben.
Mit der „Digitalen Vorfreude“ können Kunden die Entstehung des eigenen Fahrzeugs in Echtzeit begleiten und tief in die Markenwelt eintauchen. Dieses, unter der strategischen Leitung von Berylls entstandene, gemeinsam mit Cinteo, fischerAppelt und Goodmates für Mercedes-Benz entwickelte digitale Kundenerlebnis ist nun zusätzlich zum Deutschen Preis für Onlinekommunikation 2017 auch mit dem Red Dot Award Communications best of the best ausgezeichnet worden.
Mehr erfahren sie unter berylls.com

MITGLIED IM
KI VERBAND

Berylls ist Gründungsmitglied des KI Bundesverband e.V. (KI Verband). Der KI Verband hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Kompetenzen im Bereich künstliche Intelligenz (KI) zu bündeln, um Deutschland als attraktiven Wirtschaftsstandort für das KI Ökosystem zu etablieren und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit im internationalen Vergleich zu stärken. Der Verband definiert außerdem eine Rahmenbedingungen für KI-Anwendungen in der Automobilindustrie – beispielsweise für die Fahrzeugvernetzung, Elektromobilität, neue Mobilitätsdienste und autonomes Fahren.
„KI hat in letzter Zeit viel Dynamik gewonnen. Wir bei Berylls setzen uns seit geraumer Zeit mit KI auseinander und waren bereits in der Lage KI-basierte Anwendungen erfolgreich in unsere Produkte zu integrieren. Unser Engagement im KI Verband hilft uns dabei, unsere Sicht der Mobilitätsbranche zu teilen, während wir kontinuierlich unsere KI-Expertise expandieren.“ Malte Broxtermann, Projektleiter von Berylls Digital Ventures.
Mehr zum KI Bundesverband e.V.: https://ki-verband.de/

UNSERE
STANDORTE

Berlin

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
c/o mindspace
Friedrichstraße 68
10117 Berlin

München

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
Maximilianstrasse 34
80539 München

Shanghai

 
Berylls Digital Ventures GmbH & Co. KG
1019 Wuding Lu
Building 6, 3rd floor
Office 301
200041 Shanghai

URSPRUNG

Berylls Digital Ventures ist ein Tochterunternehmen der Topmanagement Strategieberatung Berylls Strategy Advisors.
Gegründet in 2011 widmet sich Berylls Strategy Advisors ausschließlich den Herausforderungen der Automobilindustrie. Mit ca. 50 Beratern begleitet Berylls Strategy Advisors OEMs, Zulieferer und Investoren durch die größte Transformation der Industrie. Dabei unterstützt Berylls von der Weiterentwicklung des traditionellen Geschäfts bis hin zur Definition neuer Mobilitätslösungen und Geschäftsmodelle.
Lernen Sie Berylls Strategy Advisors näher kennen.